Jiangsu Province - Knowledge Base

Capital: Nanjing, 南京, Nánjīng

Moderator: savanb

Jiangsu Province - Knowledge Base

Postby long_way » Tue Mar 10, 2009 1:47 pm

Jiangsu (simplified Chinese: 江苏; traditional Chinese: 江蘇; pinyin: Jiāngsū; Wade-Giles: Chiang-su; Postal map spelling: Kiangsu) is a province of the People's Republic of China, located along the east coast of the country. The name comes from jiang, short for the city of Jiangning (now Nanjing), and su, for the city of Suzhou. The abbreviation for this province is "苏" (sū), the second character of its name.

Jiangsu borders Shandong in the north, Anhui to the west, and Zhejiang and Shanghai to the south. Jiangsu has a coastline of over one thousand kilometers along the Yellow Sea, and the Yangtze River passes through its southern parts. Since the inception of economic reforms in 1978, Jiangsu has been a hot spot for economic development, and is now one of China's most prosperous provinces. The wealth divide between the rich southern regions and the north, however, remains a prominent issue in the province.

Learn more about Jiangsu:



See it:



http://www.webshots.com/search?query=Ji ... esults_top
Posts: 737
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 8:56 am

Return to Jiangsu (江苏, Jiāngsū)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest