Inner Mongolia - Knowledge Base

Autonomous Region.
Capital: Hohhot (呼和浩特, Hūhéhàotè)

Moderator: savanb

Inner Mongolia - Knowledge Base

Postby long_way » Wed Mar 04, 2009 2:48 pm

Inner Mongolia (Mongolian: , Öbür mongɣul; Chinese: 内蒙古; pinyin: Nèi Měnggǔ; officially romanized to Nei Mongol) is the Mongol autonomous region of the People's Republic of China, located in the country's north.

Inner Mongolia borders, from east to west, the provinces of Heilongjiang, Jilin, Liaoning, Hebei, Shanxi, Shaanxi, Ningxia Hui Autonomous Region, and Gansu, while to the north it borders Mongolia and Russia. It is the third-largest subdivision of China spanning about 1,200,000 km² (463,000 sq mi) or 12% of China's land area. It has a population of about 24 million as of 2004. The capital is Hohhot.

The majority of the population in the region are Han Chinese, with a substantial Mongol minority. The official languages are Standard Mandarin and Mongolian, the latter written in the classical alphabet.

Lear more:

See it: ... olia/show/ ... %22&m=tags ... romeheader
Posts: 737
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 8:56 am

Return to Inner Mongolia (内蒙古自治区, Nèi Měnggǔ Zìzhìqū)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest