Fujian Province - Knowledge Base

Capital: Fuzhou, 福州, Fúzhōu

Moderator: savanb

Fujian Province - Knowledge Base

Postby long_way » Fri Mar 06, 2009 2:16 pm

Fujian (Chinese: 福建; pinyin: Fújiàn; Wade-Giles: Fu-chien; Postal map spelling: Fukien, Foukien; local transliteration from Hokkien: Hok-kiàn) is one of the provinces on the southeast coast of China.

Fujian borders Zhejiang to the north, Jiangxi to the west, and Guangdong to the south. Taiwan lies to the east, across the Taiwan Strait. The name Fujian comes from the combination of Fuzhou and Jian'ou, two cities in Fujian. The name was coined during the Tang Dynasty.

Most of Fujian is administered by the People's Republic of China. However, the archipelagos of Kinmen (traditional Chinese: 金門; simplified Chinese: 金门; Tongyong Pinyin: Jīnmén; Hanyu Pinyin: Jīnmén; POJ (Hokkien): Kim-mn̂g) and Matsu (traditional Chinese: 馬祖; simplified Chinese: 马祖; Tongyong Pinyin: Mǎzǔ; Hanyu Pinyin: Mǎzǔ; POJ: Má-chó) are under the control of the Republic of China (Taiwan).

Thus, there are two provinces (in the sense of government organizations; PRC's Fujian and ROC's Fujian).

Learn more:



See it:



http://www.webshots.com/search?query=fu ... romeheader
Posts: 737
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 8:56 am

Return to Fujian (福建, Fújiàn)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest